Huckleberry Grid

Using the "Golden Grid" to establish margins and layout for typesetting.

Using the “Golden Section” to establish margins and layout for typesetting.

Today is all about grids.

Particularly, the Golden Grid (or the Golden Section, if you will).

The Golden Grid is a tool used in layout design, often used in books, magazines, and pretty much any kind of publication design. It’s pretty cool in that it’s a formula that occurs even in nature– a : b = b : (a+b) if you want to get mathematical. (Look at the pictures or Google it if you want to get visual!)

While there are personal preferences, no one can really get into typography without considering the benefits of the grid. It sets a pretty reliable guide for design– specifically that of books.

The results

The Oo-la-la Results

In my redesign of the interior of Mark Twain’s “Huckleberry Finn,” I’ve used the Golden Section to lay out my margins and the text. Through a series of intersecting lines, I was able to figure out the accurate proportions that the novel should have.

I was probably most excited by the fact that there’s actual white space in this version (unlike the crammed-to-the-edges edition that inspired the project).

I was also trying to fix the legibility of the text. In the old version, the font bled a bit and greyed out the page. I wanted to set it in LTC Cloister Oldstyle Light, originally. I recently read a novel that used it, and it was a lovely read visually speaking. But, since it’s not on my computer, I swapped it out for Adobe Jenson Pro Regular, and I’m currently playing with the font Haymaker for the chapter openings (when else do you get to use the fun fonts?).

It’s a work in progress still, but it’s getting there. Check back for the rest later.

For in-depth readings that I picked up in class today on grids, type and layout:

Kindly borrowed from ThinkingWithType.com

Leave a Reply

